The Irish Hotels Federation (IHF) has begun rolling out a Branch Employee of the Year awards scheme to celebrate and recognise exceptional employees who make an outstanding contribution to their workplace. Over 60,000 people are employed by hotels and guesthouses across the country in all areas of operations including food and beverage; catering; accommodation services; reception; leisure centre and spa facility management; sales and marketing; human resources; IT; management and finance.


Speaking at the presentation of the Dublin Branch Employee of the Year Award, IHF President Joe Dolan said that hotel and guesthouse employees play a vital role in the continued success of the tourism sector by ensuring guests have a truly memorable stay, which they will share with friends and family. “Our employees are the best ambassadors for tourism. The outstanding calibre of the nominees for this year’s branch awards highlights the great talent that exists within our industry today and the outstanding commitment to excellence. As we seek to grow the number of visitors from new and existing markets, this really augurs well for an industry that makes such an important contribution to the economy of every town and county in Ireland.”

The Dublin Branch Employee of the Year winner was Ciara McNamara, Duty Manager, Jury’s Inn, Parnell Street. Congratulating Ms McNamara on her award, Mr Dolan said the panel of judges had cited her tenacity and evident passion for her work, which had led to significant career success within a relatively short period.

Winner: Ciara McNamara, Jurys Inn Parnell Street

The Nominees together with Joe Dolan, President, Irish Hotels Federation and Peter Collins, Dublin Branch Chair

Under the scheme, each hotel and guesthouse is invited to nominate one employee for their local branch award. An independent judging panel comprising representatives of local Institutes of Technology (IT), or Education and Training Boards (ETBs), as well as members from other IHF branches is responsible for reviewing the nominees and selecting the overall winner.






Press Office, Irish Hotels Federation, 01 679 8600   

Ger McCarthy/Barry Ryan, Weber Shandwick PR, Mobile: 086 233 3590 / 085 728 7326

« Back