IHF Diary

  • October Management & Council Meetings
    14/10/2020 - 10:00am to 4:00pm
log in to view »
Second Annual Irish Hotels Federation Mid-West Tourism Fundraising Gala Dinner & Ball
Minister for Finance Michael Noonan being presented with a gift from Midwest Ball committee members, Elaine Fitzgerald Kane, Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel, Sean Lally, Strand Hotel, Donnacha Hurley, Absolute Hotel, Simon Hodgson, Dromoland Castle, Ivann Tuohy, Clarion Hotel and Ciara Hanley, Strand Hotel
The Shannon Branch of the Irish Hotels Federation held their second annual Midwest Tourism Ball June 16th at the Limerick Strand Hotel with over 400 attendees on the night. The ball is part of a drive to raise funds for local tourism initiatives in the Mid-West region including Tipperary, Clare and Limerick. Following on from last year’s success, Guest of Honour on the night Minister Michael Noonan received an award in recognition of his contribution to the region including the maintenance of the vat rate, abolition of airport tax, an independent Shannon Airport and many other Tourism initiatives that the government have undertaken including most recently the Wild Atlantic Way. He gave a passionate speech to industry reassuring tourism businesses of the support that government is putting in place in particular for SMEs.
Stephen McNally President of the Irish Hotels Federation, spoke about the possibilities offered by Shannon Airport and the drive of the industry in the region.  He also recognised the importance of retention of the vat rate for the Tourism Industry which has provided nearly 24,000 thousand jobs this year alone.
On the night raffle prize’s raised a staggering amount of €2000 which will go towards the fund. This will add to a total fund of nearly €14,000.
Attending the ball IHF Midwest Ball at the Strand Hotel were, Ger Dollard, Clare County Council, Ivan Tuohy, Clarion Hotel, John Crowe, Mayor of Clare and Pat McMahon, Clare County Council. 
Pictured are: Wayne Anderson, Angela Duggan, Stephen Thornton, Michelle Normoyle, Melanie Lennon, Donnacha Hurley and Michelle O'Connor all from the Absolute Hotel.
Pictured are: Ciara Coady, Stacey O'Callaghan and Mags Egan all from the Radisson Hotel
Pictured are: Tim Fenn, CEO IHF, Maeve Martin Kelly, Adare Heritage Centre, Stephen McNally, President IHF, Maria and Michael Vaughan, Vaughans Lodge Hotel.
Pictured are: Derek McInerney, Maragret Hogan, Martin Neville, Sinead O'Leary and Kenneth, Switzer all from LIT.
Pictured are: David Brett, Avvio, Caroline Dunlea, Avvio, Ray Kearney, Trump INternational Golf Links and Hotel Ireland, Vicki Crowe, Avvio, Ed O'Dwyer, Trump International Golf Links and Hotel, Ireland and Margaret Nagle, Trump International Golf Links and Hotel Ireland. 
Pictured are: Emma Ryan and Colm Shearman, Adare Manor.
Pictures: Alan Place.
« Back